April 19, 2019


Gov’t projects will be equitably shared among regions – Nana Addo

Gov’t projects will be equitably shared among regions – Nana Addo
Right Below Featured Image

President Nana Akufo-Addo has assured that government projects will share projects equitably across the various regions, including the newly created ones.

The President gave the assurance at a ceremony held at the Flagstaff House to present the Constitutional Instrument backing the creation of the North East region.

“I want to assure residents of the [new] region that government projects and structures will be equally transferred across the regions,” said the President.

The President also indicated that the oldest town in the East Mamprusi Municipal Assembly, Nalerigu has been selected as the capital of the North East Region.

The Northern Regional Minister, Salifu Saeed has also been named the caretaker Minister of the region which has an estimated population of 440,000.

The President believes “with dedication and commitment, the North East region will develop and touch the life of every resident and help us to build the great nation of Ghana we all desire.”

The districts making up the new region are the East Mamprusi Municipality, the West Mamprusi Municipality, the Bunkprugu-Nakpanduri District, the Yunyoo-Nasuan District, the Mamprugu-Moagduri District and the Chereponi District.

President Akufo-Addo also noted that the North East part of the former Northern Region was the breadbasket of the area and “it is only appropriate that we help facilitate its rapid development.”

Residents of the North East part of the Northern Region in the referendum held overwhelmingly endorsed the creation of the North East Region with 99.67% of the ballots cast in favour.

Like the other new regions, the North East Region will be getting GHc20 million as seed capital.

President Akufo-Addo has also set up a committee to assess the needs of the new regions, five of which are awaiting their legal backing.

The remaining regions awaiting the presentation of their Constitutional Instruments are Western North, Ahafo, Bono East, Oti and Savannah.

By: Marian Ansah| citinewsroom.com| Ghana

Related posts