June 18, 2019


Samuel Ofosu Ampofo beats Abodakpi, 3 others to emerge NDC Chair

Samuel Ofosu Ampofo beats Abodakpi, 3 others to emerge NDC Chair National Chairman of the NDC, Samuel Ofosu Ampofo made the announcement

The First Vice Chairman of the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC), Samuel Ofosu Ampofo, has been elected as the new National Chair of the NDC.

He was declared winner after contesting four persons for the party’s top job at the NDC’s 9th delegates’ conference held at the Fantasy Dome of the Trade Fair Center in Accra.

Mr. Ofosu-Ampofo polled a total of 3,656 votes, beating his closest contender, Dan Abodakpi who had 2,199 votes.

Alhaji Huudu Yahaya, Danny Annang, Betty Mould Iddrisu also polled 1,827; 309 and  363 votes respectively.

The Chairmanship race was one many political watchers described as open, as there wasn’t any particular individual or duo to be considered as top runner or runners.

About Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo

Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo is a former District Chief Executive appointed by former President Jerry John Rawlings.

He is also the former Member of Parliament for Fanteakwa Constituency in the Eastern Region.

He later became the National Organizer of the NDC, and part of the team that worked to get the NDC into power in 2008.

Under the leadership of President John Evans Atta-Mills, he was appointed the Minister for Local Government and Rural Development after serving as the Eastern Regional Minister.

Mr. Ofosu-Ampofo later contested in the NDC’s executive elections and won as the First Vice National Chairman of the NDC.

For some political watchers, he’s not viewed as one of the favorites of former President John Mahama, for which reason he didn’t play any significant role in the Mahama administration.

NDC’s 9th delegates congress

At the 9th Delegates’ conference of the NDC, some 65 aspirants vied for various positions to steer the national affairs of the party.

Many of the party stalwarts including former presidents Jerry John Rawlings and John Dramani Mahama, were also present.

Other political parties such as the NPP, PNC, CPP, PPP and the APC, also delivered solidarity messages.

Other winners

Asiedu Nketia (General Secretary)

Sammy Gyamfi (Communications Officer)

Kweku Boahen and Godwin Ako Gunn (Deputy Communication Officers)

Joshua Akamba (National Organizer)

By: Jonas Nyabor | citinewsroom.com | Ghana

Related posts